My Neighbour Totoro – Demo now available!

The demo for My Neighbour Totoro VR, Bus Stop Scene, is now available for all to download for PC – with the latest SDK!

Mac and Linux versions will be uploaded as soon as I can get them made and tested.

My Neighbour Totoro VR, The Bus Stop Scene

My Neighbour Totoro VR, The Bus Stop Scene My Neighbour Totoro VR, The Bus Stop Scene

 

PC users can try the latest DK2 SDK version HERE.

The Linux version should be run in 64bit only – and may not work for some. 

Mac version is best downloaded with Firefox – additionally: Right click on the app, select “Get Info”, then on the pop-up menu that appears, check the box for “Open in 32-bit mode”, then open the app again, it should work. Thanks to 

For updates follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/RedOfPaw

Please Donate if you can!

This is a non-profit project and I won’t be making any money from it, but any support you can give for future scenes is appreciated. Funds will go towards assets and software at first, and if possible towards hardware to better produce VR experiences. You can donate either on Paypal or with Bitcoin below:

DonatePaypalDonate Bitcoin

 

 

Note: Donations are made to my personal company ‘Fire Panda’, which is a new company set up for my work as a freelancer, and eventually my VR work (when I get good enough!) – http://www.firepanda.co.uk 

32 thoughts on “My Neighbour Totoro – Demo now available!

  1. Looks cool!
    However, the download links seem to have gone into the “rel” attribute, not the “href”. So anyone interested in downloading: Open Developer Tools (inspect element) and look for a link leading to some “mega” download.

  2. Pingback: Totoro VR Now Available for Mac and Linux | VR Focus

  3. Pingback: Download 'My Neighbour Totoro VR – Bus Stop Scene' Oculus Rift (video)

  4. Pingback: My Neighbor Totoro VR Hands-On & Video for Oculus Rift

  5. OK, I tried on my other mac, which has a different OS, and I confirm this is not working…Frustrating :( hope you can fix this soon. this looks so amazing, you are the one who made this?

    • The version you’ve tried uses the new SDK, which is ready for the DK2 and uses a camera for positional tracking. I’ll swap it back to the other version and you will be able to download that :)

  6. Pingback: Totoro VR Arrives on Oculus Share | VR Focus

  7. for the cowboy bebop one you could do a scene from the start of the movie where the antagonist blows up a truck containing a deadly nanovirus. the player would be a passenger in a vehicle beneath the bridge where the explosion takes place. eventually they would succumb to the poisonous gas and start hallucinating butterflies. im not sure how iconic that scene is though, also none of the key characters of the series would be visible.

    you could do the opening scene from the movie with the convenience store robbery if ur up to animating that much.

    or u could just have the interior of the bebop and have the character play as ein.

    im just riffing here. ur projects are inspiring… they may be only small isolated scenes but the way you captured the feel of the originals, and allowing us to set foot in them, really made their fictional worlds tangible and real. watching those movies as a child i sometimes fantasized that those people were real and i could go there one day… i got real chills seeing totoro beside me.

  8. Pingback: Totoro : la scène de l'arrêt de bus dans l'Oculus Rift

  9. Pingback: トトロの世界に入り込めるVR | VR NAVIGATOR

  10. Pingback: Tunnel Vision: The Fortnight In VR | Rock, Paper, Shotgun

  11. When using Mac OSX 10.9.4 and SDK .4.1 the demo seems to appear on the left side of the rift, but the right side is flashing white and looks like the desktop in the background.

    I launched totoro on the primary display then dragged it into the rift display and then did full screen. Is there a better method? When I launched on the laptop monitor directly, the demo was full screen as expected.

    • Hey,

      Sadly I don’t use Mac, so I’m not sure of the best way to approach it. Hopefully I’ll get a new Mac version up soon and that should fix issues. Will post in the blog when I do.

      Thanks

  12. Pingback: Meeting Totoro with the Oculus Rift - Renegade Revolution

Leave a Reply

